Day 4: The Importance of Flexible Planning

I woke up to my daughter’s cry just before 5.  A dream.  I picked her up and held her, which immediately calmed her, then put her back down.  I would have gone back to bed and stayed there, maybe even dozed off – but I realized that she was sitting up.  Oh boy.  I had a hunch that my usual morning time would be cut drastically short, if not totally obliterated, if I didn’t get up thirty minutes earlier, so I did.  I got up, sat zazen, and went downstairs to the kitchen.  I was slicing the vegetables for the salad when I heard the footsteps coming down.  There went my music time.

Good thing that was the only thing I had to skip.  I’ve learned the hard way that it’s important to plan for when shit happens.  And it’s not rocket science – just a matter of making sure that a certain amount of flexibility is worked into the design of the program.  In my case, I made my current plan knowing that there would be days like this one where maybe the kids get up too early, or days where I am sick, or I have to travel somewhere (as I do next week).  For today, I figured I could just work on lyrics later – probably when I am lying in bed while everyone’s asleep.

Later this morning I practiced the following:

Aikiken waza: single-arm cuts, yokomenuchi

Kali single stick drills

Kali single stick carenza (free play)

Aikiken waza: Shihonage

I feel better than I did last Tuesday.  I think I tried to do too much that time.  Also, I’d been a bit hasty in my movements.  Today I slowed down somewhat on my left arm, focusing more on proper form and movement than on power, though I still went rock n’ roll on my right arm – especially on carenza.

About raffyayaladvo

Just a regular guy blogging about the stuff he's interested in. View all posts by raffyayaladvo

Leave a Reply

Hardcore Zen

by Brad Warner

AIKIDO-NO-SEKAI

Non-violence. Talking Peace. Everything Aikido.

Nyohō Zen

the look, feel, and stuff of the Dharma

Buddhism in the Philippines

This is a place for anyone to learn about the teachings of the Buddha.

One Continuous Mistake

Zen・Parenting・Place

True Story

Part of me wants to spare you the details. Part of me wants to tell you everything.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Buddhism now

Welcome to Buddhism Now an online Buddhist magazine, giving advice on how to practise Buddhism

