Day 2.5: What For?

I guess this is a good time to talk about why I planned this whole 6-week thing, as well as what I intend to do with this blog.

I haven’t gotten around to doing this blog’s About page, but the blog name pretty much says it all.  Zen, Music, and Movement – the three main interests in my life.  They’re interests, but they’re also disciplines.  They are practices.  But one cannot call something a practice unless one actually – wait for it – practices it.  A freakin’ lot.  Which would be a lot simpler if I lived as a celibate monk in a monastery that emphasized zazen, music, and physical movement as their main disciplines (assuming of course that such a place exists.  I don’t know, I’ve never stayed in a monastery before).  Not only is that not the case for me, I also don’t have the desire to do so.  I’m perfectly happy being married, being a father, and having a stable job that allows me to both support my family and pursue my interests.  So the whole point about the 6-week plan is just to plot out how a regular civilian who is not: a) a monk, b) a professional fighter/soldier/pretty much anyone paid to fight, c) a professional athlete, d) a full-time professional singer-songwriter can realistically make these disciplines a part of his life along with his work, family, social life, and everything else.

Why six weeks?  Well, it’s not like I’m going to stop after that.  It’s just an arbitrary period of time.  I could have also chosen 6 months, 6 days, 6 years.  But I chose 6 weeks because I’ve found it to be a manageable chunk of time.  It’s longer than 6 days and shorter than 6 months.  It’s long enough for me to develop the habit of practicing the disciplines consistently, and short enough that it doesn’t seem so daunting.  I mean think about it: if you wanted to accomplish a particularly ambitious goal or complete a huge and complex project, the idea of doing so would most likely seem so formidable you’d seriously question your ability to undertake such a thing.  However, if you were to break it up into tiny, more manageable tasks, it wouldn’t seem such a big deal now, would it?

So that’s it.  Six weeks.  And after that – I’ll evaluate and make adjustments accordingly for the next six weeks, or six months, or whatever.  And this blog?  It’s to help me keep track of myself.

About raffyayaladvo

Just a regular guy blogging about the stuff he's interested in. View all posts by raffyayaladvo

Leave a Reply

Hardcore Zen

by Brad Warner

AIKIDO-NO-SEKAI

Non-violence. Talking Peace. Everything Aikido.

Nyohō Zen

the look, feel, and stuff of the Dharma

Buddhism in the Philippines

This is a place for anyone to learn about the teachings of the Buddha.

One Continuous Mistake

Zen・Parenting・Place

True Story

Part of me wants to spare you the details. Part of me wants to tell you everything.

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Buddhism now

Welcome to Buddhism Now an online Buddhist magazine, giving advice on how to practise Buddhism

